Flight Food

So it’s actually been about a week in Tokyo, but I’m going to split up the first post because a lot has gone on, and some things I want to keep in separate pages.

The first thing to start with, I suppose, is the flight from RDU to Narita. I had to transfer flights, so I made a stop at Dallas/Fortworth Airport in Texas first. Happily, I had both first class and business class tickets (frequent flyer miles are a lifesaver), so I got a TON of food from the flights 🙂 A lovely cinnamon french toast from RDU to Texas – which, actually, gave me a huge stomachache and led to some awkward buzzfeed-like conversation with my dad.

The "french toast" that caused my stomach's demise

The “french toast” that caused my stomach’s demise

It was quite funny, actually. And a bit of relief for me, since I had never flown alone before.

Anyways, I had a two hour layover consisting of me…playing tsum tsum (yes, I got addicted to LINE games before leaving for Japan). When I got on the international flight, I did my last few snapchats, then went and explored the menu on the TV screens. They had Divergent, Maleficent, and Million Dollar Arm, all of which I wanted to watch back in the States. Yay for free movies. Although I found Maleficent absolutely terrible (Angelina Jolie’s acting in it….actually the whole thing was just horrible). The Sam Smith album made up for it, though (✌゚∀゚)☞.

In terms of food, I got three sets of meals on the plane – lunch, “snack” (probably called that since we were entering a different time zone), and breakfast. They were all much better than the french toast I got before, and they certainly didn’t give me indigestion…

Get ready for a photo dump.

The appetizer: Thai Chicken, Herb Bread, and Seasonal Greens

The appetizer: Thai Chicken, Herb Bread, and Seasonal Greens

Lunch: Chili Rubbed Filet

Lunch: Chili Rubbed Filet

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please ignore this arbitrary line because I need to make the pictures fit in the way I want them to.

The dessert: Ben and Jerry's Vanilla Ice Cream with Hot Fudge, Butterscotch, and Seasonal Berries

The dessert: Ben and Jerry’s Vanilla Ice Cream with Hot Fudge, Butterscotch, and Seasonal Berries

The snack: Udon and Broth with dessert of Fruit

The snack: Udon and Broth with dessert of Fruit

 

 

 

 

 

 

Breakfast: Three Cheese Omelette, Salad, and Cappuccino Mousse Tart

Breakfast: Three Cheese Omelette, Salad, and Cappuccino Mousse Tart

Alright photo dump done. Don’t they all look so delicious? Surprisingly, airplane food can actually be good. Sorry for the bad quality of the udon picture, though – it was lights off on the plane, and I didn’t want to bother the neighbors. The breakfast portion was also what I thought would be the last time I could have cheese (it’s kind of expensive/rare in Japan), which is why I chose it for breakfast.

The plane ride was actually terrible, terrible, terrible. Even though I had a huge seat and lots of leg room, everything felt cramped and uncomfortable. My back was killing me. I was also the only young’un in that part of the plane, so I felt pretty awkward. Luckily, the stewardess was super nice, although I felt a little bad when she tried to take my Japanese newspaper from me since she thought I couldn’t read any of it. And when she commented on how I don’t eat noodles like an Asian (I eat slowly and “daintily”).

In total, my flight time was about 16 hours, with a three hour layover, making the trip about 18 hours long. More than half a day! You can tell just by looking at that number how tired I was after.

Oh, by the way, I took American Airlines, for anyone who wants to try and get those entrees

Y⌒Y⌒(。A。)アヒャ

One comment

  1. THAT DESSERT. ME WANT. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

