Tokyo Game Show 2014

Yesterday (September 20)  was super exciting, super tiring, and super ….well, you’ll see.

The day started off terribly, just as basically every other day has been. I accidentally mistook a train time for a meeting time. So I totally missed the bunch of Keio people heading to Tokyo Game Show at 8:16. I spent the next thirty minutes just trying to figure out how to get there and frantically messaging people to ask if I could meet up or something.

I ended up just giving up and going back to my dorm. Then, after another 15 minutes or so, a shining ray of light came. Grace had finally LINE’d me back that she, Brandon, and Megan (all same university students studying abroad at ICU) would wait at Tokyo Station for me. So I hurriedly ran out the door and back to Hiyoshi Station. The train rides there took approximately 30 minutes. I had to take the Tokyu-Toyoko Line to Musashi-kosugi, then walk the LONG, LONG way to the Yokosuka Line and take a train bound for Narita. I got off at Tokyo and met Grace and co. at the Mainouchi North Exit, and we proceeded to go to the Keiyo Line – another long walk.

Just be prepared for a lot of walking and potentially missing your next train because of huge train stations.

The Keiyo Line to Kaihin-Makuhari was pretty long. But it was cool, since we got to pass by Disneyland. I can’t wait ’til I can finally go there!

Disneyland!

Disneyland!

The Kaihin-Makuhari Station was super crowded at around 11:30. The fare adjustment machines and the ticket machines had long lines, and people were pushing other people out of the way (I got pushed a lot). Luckily, since Megan and Brandon had to add money to their Suica cards (basically like train fare cards, where you add as much money as you want and you scan it at the ticket machines instead of buying individual train tickets), most of the crowd cleared out when they were done.

The walk to the venue wasn’t too far, and I guess we got there late, since the lines to buy tickets were not long at all. It was ¥1200 for entry. Along with about ¥1000 each for the ride there and back, Tokyo Game Show cost me a little over ¥3200. Like $32 US. I might’ve been charged more though. But it’s still cheaper than Animazement in NC.

Tokyo Game Show!

Tokyo Game Show!

I was super excited. Inside, we had to (sadly) immediately hand over our tickets. I didn’t even get a good picture of it! But the the sheer size of the place and how many giant booths were set up surprised me. I had never been to a convention like that before (the only other con I’ve been to is an International Festival). There weren’t as many cosplayers and I had thought there would be, but I really liked the Type-0 ones I saw (wish I had had the courage to ask for pictures!)

Instead I was the creeper who took your picture from behind...

Instead I was the creeper who took your picture from behind…

Square Enix booth and crowds.

Square Enix booth and crowds.

TGS is….a lot of walking. Mostly just walking. The lines for everything are so long that you basically don’t get to play any

demos at all, unless you get there very early. The first few hours, we just walked along, gathering freebie papers, pamphlets, bags, and clear files. I was ecstatic when I got a booklet from Square Enix with Kingdom Hearts on it. At the Koei Techmo booth, they had a lottery for free pins, a PS Vita, and other goodies, but you had to gather three stamps from their game demo stations in order to enter. We didn’t have time for that kind of thing. The lines were too long. Really wish I got to do it though – it would’ve been nice to get something beside paper for free.

Project Morpheus at the PS4 booth looked nice, too (the Sony version of the Oculus Rift, a virtual reality helmet – but cooler looking and sleeker), and Megan and Brandon spent some time looking at people playing the Bloodbourne demo. Looks just like Dark Soul to me…(turns out they’re both by the same team!)

The Bloodborne Booth

The Bloodborne Booth

We went to the Namco Bandai booth to get free bags for all our swag. The bags were cool – had Tales of Zestiria on one side, and God Eater 2 on the other. I really wanted to try out the God Eater demos, but…lines, and company who probably didn’t want to. I wasn’t allowed to take pictures either.

God Eater!!!

God Eater!!!

We did, however, get to try out Xperia’s selfie-with-Cloud (of FFVII fame) booth, which was hilarious, but very cool.

Around 1:30, we started getting hungry, and had to go to Gate 6 to get our hands stamped (with those invisible UV light stamps) and to go out to get food. On the way, saw an Evangelion booth and bike! I didn’t know they were coming out with yet another game…

Also saw Oculus Rift demos.

There were only two real food places – Central Cafeteria and Garden Cafeteria. We went to the Garden Cafeteria. I was the only one who had brought food with me, so I stuck with my ¥45 onigiri while everyone else bought ramen or hayashi rice. My rice was dry, but it served it’s purpose.

Hayashi Rice, since you've already seen ramen.

Hayashi Rice, since you’ve already seen ramen.

We reentered TGS after walking around and getting our picture taken in front of the sign saying “Tokyo Game Show 2014.” First, we stopped by the merchandise. Couldn’t afford anything, but Square Enix had a nice CD booth. Really wanted to buy a soundtrack, but I ain’t ready to spend $30 on that.

Then we were ready to go try some games. Grace and I really wanted to try the virtual reality headsets, so we went to Project Morpheus. Megan and Brandon went to Bloodbourne. Bloodbourne demos, however, were closed, so they came back. Project Morpheus had about a 3 hour wait time – and with only 2 hours left ’til TGS closed, we decided not to go. Went to a game school’s booth instead to try their Oculus Rift game. The wait was much shorter, and we got to the front in maybe 20-30 minutes.

Megan, a friend who's also from my home university, wearing the Oculus Rift

Megan, a friend who’s also from my home university, wearing the Oculus Rift

It was really fun and really cool to try it out, but I wasn’t immersed in the game. I imagined virtual reality to be more…realistic. But I could hear sounds from the people in the venue and could see the real ground when I looked down. The Oculus Rift machine probably wasn’t put on tightly enough. But the graphics also weren’t that great, so it didn’t look real. It also gives you a slight headache afterwards. But it was cool – you could control where your character goes just by where you are looking. It was funny, because, when you are in the crowd, you see the person playing looking in your direction, when in fact, they can’t see you and are playing the game. It was also slightly awkward since you are putting yourself on display when you play.

After Oculus, Megan and Brandon went to check out Final Fantasy Explorers, while Grace and I decided to go to the Voltage booth and take pictures with, what Grace described as “a pretty shrine boy.” Voltage, by the way, is a company that makes otome/reverse-harem games for mobile phones. And hey, it as a once in a lifetime chance, might as well go for it.

Nearby the shrine area, was a booth where, one passerby described as a booth where “you get pushed down by hot girls onto the bed.” Er. No thanks…

Right next to the shrine area was also another photo booth, where you sit in between two foreigners who were basically dressed like butlers or hosts. Grace and I didn’t need that, since we see white people all the time back home, but there seemed to be a super long line there.

We went traditional lol and just took a picture with a Japanese guy dressed in a hakama. It was embarrassing, but it’s something we’ll laugh about in the future. And we did it twice, since we saw one or two other shameless girls doing kabe don with the guy.

The first kabe don girl who inspired us to follow our kabe don dreams

The first kabe don girl who inspired us to follow our kabe don dreams

( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \

The pictures will forever be stored away for that one, because it was awkward. Grace even says she’ll have nightmares because of Kyosuke’s (the guy’s name) eyes. Honestly, he’s the one who’s shameless lol because he’s able to unflinchingly look into every girl’s eyes and like. Never blink. It’s kind of creepy. How does he do it without being embarrassed though, seriously…

And it was 5 and we had to go. Brandon said there was a cosplay event at 6:30, so we waited while Megan, Grace, and him got soft serve ice creams for ¥300 each. We also saw a guy at our table dressed in lolita, brushing his hair and reapplying makeup. Wow. He’s much better than I am at that stuff.

Anyways, turned out that you needed another ticket for the cosplay thing, and we decided to find a place for dinner instead. Everywhere seemed to be full though – probably because of the TGS crowd. But I spotted Saizeriya, a place I had seem on tokyocheapo (a website for saving money in Tokyo) and we decided to eat there. Their service was nice and fast and their prices – soooooo good. I highly recommend them.

First time trying escargot!

First time trying escargot!

I got escargot for ¥399. It was kind of pricey for the size, but hey, it is fancy snails. It just tasted like salt, though. It was my first time trying escargot, and it wasn’t bad. It just tasted like chewy oyster-like salty tidbits.

Grace and Brandon were much more normal and got things like pizza and pasta. Though Brandon did get a lot more food compared to everyone else.

Saizeriya also had ¥100 baby glasses of wine. Everyone but me decided to get at least one and drink. I tried a sip, and it wasn’t terrible. It was just okay, and had a slightly grapey aftertaste.

Halfway through dinner, fireworks started outside – probably from the Tokyo Game Show arena. It was nice and really topped off the day.

At the train station afterwards, though, Grace and Megan were a biiiiiit tipsy. And the train ride to Tokyo Station was so loud, I thought we were back on a bus or something in America. Usually, barely anyone talks. There was even a guy drinking alcohol on the train. So many foreigners. One guy came up to Megan completely intending to flirt.

When we reached Tokyo, I had to go off on my own to catch the trains back to Hiyoshi, since Megan, Brandon, and Grace lived along the Chuo line. I took some fancy train to Musashi-Kosugi, and I definitely regret it. It cost me actually yen and I wasn’t allowed to use my pasmo. I put in ¥1000 on it for nothing…

Also it totally messed up my pasmo and I think I might’ve accidentally entered the train area without my card working (I was reentering the station since I took the wrong way to the Tokyu-Toyoko Line). Hopefully some JR guys don’t come after me…

I got it corrected at a station attendant box, though, and I safely made it back to Hiyoshi alive. And past 10:30 pm.

As soon as I got back to my dorm, I immediately fell asleep.

It was a pretty great day – minus the pasmo problem and the missing my group in the morning deal.

PS: there’s a lot of typical squeaky high voices are TGS. All the performers use their chibi voices.

I’ll leave you with a couple more pictures from the event.

Nintendo Stuffed Animals

Nintendo Stuffed Animals

God Eater

God Eater

Evangelion Motorcycle

Evangelion Motorcycle

 

Selfies with Cloud!

Selfies with Cloud!

Dragonball

Dragonball

Taking pictures with gaijin hosts

Taking pictures with gaijin hosts

Leave a Reply

