University Life Week Four

There is no consistency to my naming of posts. Haha.

October 13, Monday

In the super early morning (’til 1am ish), got to Skype one of my friends from back home! We talked for nearly 3 hours, but it was really nice to finally “see” someone from home again. Other than that, I also found out Luhan was leaving EXO! Sadness. (Yes, I am/used to be a K-pop fan).

Typhoon Vongfong was also on it’s way to Tokyo, and the winds were quite scary around 12 – 1am.

October 14, Tuesday

No signs of the typhoon when I woke up. Which meant, sadly, that classes were not cancelled. So I had classes, then I made a trip to OK Mart, which, again, I highly recommend. Just make sure to bring a huge, comfortable bag, since I keep struggling bringing back 2000ml bottles of tea home. Also I keep rationalizing that, since OK Mart is so far, I should just buy in bulk, but then I buy too much and too many snacks.

Snacks from OK Mart. Look at those Pumpkin Purin Kitkats though!

Snacks from OK Mart. Look at those Pumpkin Purin Kitkats though!

October 15, Wednesday

No class, just dealt with Softbank and UFJ, because I keep having troubles with everything. UFJ doesn’t give you the SWIFT code when you make your account, so make sure to ask about it when you make it, so you don’t have to go back. Also explored some of Hiyoshi and found a Koei Techmo building right near Hiyoshi campus!!!

Koei Techmo!

Koei Techmo!

And found a bookstore nearby and bought CoroCoro magazine! I was so tempted to buy other manga magazines and fashion magazines for the free stuff they came with…

Manga Magazines

Manga Magazines

Also, I officially joined Revolve. But am still not involved.

October 16, Thursday

The Tomodachi Program opening party happened today. It’s a new program at Keio where you are assigned to a group of international and Japanese students and you plan events to go to together. But it really is up to the people in your group. It all depends on your luck.

After school, I went with Ching, George, Juu, and Kyuu to eat at this tsukemen (noodles you dip into sauce) and ramen place in Hiyoshi. Got to try tsukemen for the first time, but the sauce’s flavor was way too strong for me. I didn’t like it much.

Tsukemen. The noodles were good.

Tsukemen. The noodles were good.

Tomodachi Program was at Hiyoshi Campus’ cafeteria. We all got there pretty early, but had to find our tables with the number of our group on them. I was the first from my group to arrive and sat there pretty awkwardly until Yuta came. Yuta is a third year student in engineering at Keio. He also likes Pokemon, so I found something to talk about haha >.< Ayumi was the next to arrive, and I was surprised to find out that she knew someone at my university! They went to elementary school together in Japan. Lisa was the last to arrive (there

Tomodachi Program Kickoff

Tomodachi Program Kickoff

was another guy who was supposed to come, but he never showed up). She’s a research program study abroad student at Keio. She previously studied abroad in Hiroshima.

At the party, we pretty much just got to socialize and play games. There was a Keio quiz in which you could win prizes, but our group didn’t win anything, sadly. But we did get along pretty well and went to okonomiyaki nearby afterwards. I effectively ate two dinners. And had monja for the first time.

The okonomiyaki!

The okonomiyaki!

October 17, Friday

Nothing much, really. I had lunch with Yo, who got an Oomori (extra large) size of Power Don. That thing is 1100 kcal omg. That’s too much…But it did look yummy.

Oomori Power Don

Oomori Power Don

Leave a Reply

