Revolve Midnight Practice

5 November 2014, Wednesday

Now, you might be wondering why I split this week into so many entries. This is because of this midnight practice.

Wednesday was pretty busy, despite me not having classes. Makiho, Keini, and I made plans for lunch at Shibuya, which I was a bit late to. I met them at Hachiko (and, as a result, got the typical tourist picture with the statue) and then Makiho led us to this nice, fancy, girly cafe (girly in that only girls were there, but it was elegantly styled). The food was rather expensive – even though it was lunch time, the cheapest entree

Free appetizer

Free appetizer

was ¥1000. I, thus, had to order the cheapest non-Japanese style dish, which was the Pasta Set. The other one was the curry set, and well, I can have curry any old time. Keini ordered the same, and Makiho had the ¥1200 Main Dish Set.

The place was so nice we had baguette pieces and olive oil free appetizers. Keini and I also got a sour vinaigrette salad, which was really yummy.

Salad

Salad

The pasta was really nice, too. It had mushrooms – always the expensive ingredient. Makiho’s dish seemed to be a chicken steak with potatoes. She also got soup as her appetizer.

My pasta

My pasta

Makiho's Main Dish

Makiho’s Main Dish

We also got a choice of beverage besides water with out orders. Makiho ordered the hot coffee, I got the iced coffee (and was the only one who needed to use creamer….), and Keini ordered iced black tea. After we all paid, we walked around Shibuya, including to the Disney Store, which is REALLY nice. The doorway is stylized out of plastic to look like a castle, and the inside has a lighted spiral staircase. Upstairs has stained glass window designs of various Disney princesses and a chandelier. It was super fancy. Such a difference from American Disney stores, which are aimed for kids!

Makiho and Keini also accompanied me to find clothing for Revolve, in which I ended up purchasing a ¥3000 jacket at Donki, at all places. Then we separated. I went to Tsunashima’s Book Off Bazaar to find a cheaper jacket, which I succeeded in doing. When I returned to Hiyoshi, I had to immediately meet Hayato, one of the Revolve members, of whom I requested to help me learn the piece. It turns out we had practice anyways, so….we had to be there anyways. But he was really helpful. Practice ended at 8, and then I ate dinner and tried to return the ¥3000 jacket to the Donki in Hiyoshi. They said they couldn’t take it, because their system is different from Shibuya’s! Take my advice now – don’t buy anything if you will regret it, since it costs money for transportation. It seems you have to return to the place of purchase to return

Hard to see, but hard at practice

Hard to see, but hard at practice

anything – you can’t just go to a branch. Well, pretty soon, I had to take the train to Shibuya. The station wasn’t crowded at the time, since it was nearing midnight. I got there late, since I got lost and took a slow train since my 3G was not working for some reason. Regardless, I got there, and stayed the whole 5 hours – yes, you heard that right, practice was literally 12am – 5am. We even had classes the next day.

I didn’t really have any fun at practice, since I don’t have anyone to talk to in Revolve. I was just sitting there. I did my part when the 4th song was practicing, but that was about it. I even got into the group pictures, but, hey…I had to tag myself. It’s that kind of thing.

People after practice

People after practice

Well, finally, practice ended (if you join a dance group, just be warned that there is going to be a long practice like this. For us it costed ¥630 a person to rent the BStar Studio) and I went home on one of the first trains. Trains stop running maybe 1 or 2 am, and start running at 5 am. I took a train after 5, which barely anyone was on, and walked home. The sun was starting to peek out.

Already light out on the way home

Already light out on the way home

I only got about an hour of sleep that day.

6 November 2014, Thursday

My longest day, and I only got an hour of sleep. You can see where this is going. In Japanese class, I kept falling asleep. During break, the teacher even asked me what was wrong. When I told her about midnight practice, she was surprised those even existed and asked me if I needed her to talk to the group for me lol. Nope, that’s okay, thanks for the sentiments. But yeah, no sleep sucks.

Case Analysis class was fine, and Art class ended at 7:40. I had a presentation on Ise Katagami in that class, but I basically read off a piece of paper. Then I also had to present my self-portrait collage, so I just winged it. Meh. The highlight of that day might’ve been the hot drink I got out of the vending machine, which was overpriced at ¥120, but was good~ It was the chocolate flavored milk tea. It’s so interesting to see hot drinks available, though…

Hot drinks have an orange cap

Hot drinks have an orange cap

Leave a Reply

