Japanese Teishoku and Revolve

11 November 2014, Tuesday

From now on, if there’s something interesting in class, I’ll talk about it, but nothing interesting….oh wait.

In conversation class, one of my classmates, whom I met before at the level 4/5 test, told me that I used to be really happy and smiley all the time, but lately, I haven’t been.

Hm. I think it’s because I don’t really know anyone in the class…? I just told her about Revolve.

But the afternoon was nice! I was late, as usual, unfortunately (I still assume trains come all the time when they don’t…) to meet my friends back at Mita Campus for dinner. I finally got to see Haruka again after, two, three? weeks! We met at the kyudo club and have been in contact since x3 Estelle came along, too, since we all met then, and Haruka showed us to a Japanese teishoku place called Ootoya near Tamachi Station!

Japanese teishoku is basically like traditional Japanese food you’d find served at a dinner table at someone’s house or something.

The prices weren’t too bad – all about  ¥1000 or less. I chose one of the cheapest sets at somewhere

Just look at that karaage!

Just look at that karaage!

around ¥600. The Ootoya lunch. It looked good, since it had a variety of foods – karaage, kobocha korokke, an egg, and cabbage. I had a bit of trouble ordering, so Haruka helped, but accidentally ordered the set without miso, rice, and pickles! So had to order again. Estelle got the karaage set, while Haruka got a dish with karaage in a miso stew. They all looked super good.

Haruka's yummylicious dish

Haruka’s yummylicious dish

I kind of wish I splurged, but I also didn’t have more than ¥1000 with me, so I couldn’t really have bought anything else haha. Especially since I wanted dessert! They had a variety of sweets: parfaits, egg purin, zenzai (red bean soup with more red bean than soup), ice creams, some dessert soy milk, etc. It all looked super good.

My lovely Otoya Lunch

My lovely Otoya Lunch

And I was really troubled choosing one! But Haruka ended up compromising with me, since she was also in between choosing the shirotama zenzai and the tamago purin. I wanted either the uji matcha warabi mochi or the zenzai, so Haruka ended up getting the zenzai, while I got the mochi. We split our orders in half. Best of both worlds….for me, anyways.

DSC_0022

Uji Matcha Warabi Mochi

I found out that warabi mochi isn’t that great. It’s a much softer texture than what you’d normally think of mochi. It was jelly-like, almost as soft at tofu, but it still had a bit of bite to it. Although I love matcha, it was a bit too bitter for me – because I totally forgot to put the kuromitsu sauce on it! It came with fruits and milk ice cream, though. The milk ice cream was delicious. The zenzai was my favorite, though. I hate red beans, but I could stand a whole bowl full of the ones in this zenzai. It came with kuromitsu ice cream, but I actually preferred the milk one instead. I couldn’t really taste the kuromitsu.

Shirotama Zenzai

Shirotama Zenzai

Sorry for the lighting in the picture. The color are a bit more bland, though. It looks like it came with kinako powder and whipped cream, as well.

Sadly, Haruka had somewhere to be around 6, so she left in quite a hurry right after. Estelle and I were still paying!

Then we leisurely took the train back and hung out for a bit.

12 November 2014, Wednesday

I really just cannot stop talking about everyday, can I? lol

In any case, I knew that Weekly Shonen Jump came out sometime this week, but I didn’t realize it was Monday! I went around Hiyoshi looking for it (I wanted to buy it to commemorate Naruto’s end), but it was all sold out! I’ll still go around looking for it, but I’m so disappointed I couldn’t find it today…

Various Fresh Baked Breads. Cat Paws!

Various Fresh Baked Breads. Cat Paws!

On the plus side, the grocery store near the bookstore has lots of things on sale and I bought a bunch of Pokemon cakes again (steamed cakes in a Pokemon wrapper).

Pokemon Breads on Sale!!!

Pokemon Breads on Sale!!!

Had Revolve practice in the afternoon, too. Usually we practice in the undergroundish type area, but I think there was a problem with borrowing the key and stuff, so we used one of the dance studio rooms in the cafeteria. It wasn’t bad. Just a few run throughs and touch ups. Mita-sai is coming up next Friday, and we perform on the Saturday after!

13 November 2014, Thursday

Met with the Camera Club member, Sana, who’s lived in Ohio before, and thus speaks English perfectly. Since we ate at the cafeteria, I got to check out the new meals they had! The cafeteria was currently selling the Mita-sai Don, which I intended to get later, and some Hokkaido-Tohoku foods.

Tofu, Rice, Fish, and Tea

Tofu, Rice, Fish, and Tea

I ended up just getting Japanese teishoku, though – rice, tofu, and fish. The fish had millions of bones in it, so it was really unpleasant eating it. But Sana and her friends were really nice. They all had classes 3rd period, though, so I did homework as usual during that time.

After Case Analysis class, I have a break, so I sat in an empty classroom and played with my phone. Some guy came in, though, and I worried I shouldn’t be there, so I asked if a class was going on. It wasn’t until next period, so I stayed, but that question sparked a conversation. The man was 66, working and taking classes. He talked about his son and daughter, and his opinions on Taiwan and America. I’m surprised he thought I was Japanese at first….but it was interesting.

In Art class, we had a speaker come in to talk about Ise-Katagami.

Amazing Panda Stencil

Amazing Panda Stencil

We also got to try our hand at cutting out stencils and using

My Stencil and Card

My Stencil and Card

watercolor on them. The cutting took a while, and I’m terrible at watercolors, but it was fun. Afterwards, Geraldine and I went to the Union at Hiyoshi and I ended up buying a lot of groceries – including kimchi mayo (which…actually doesn’t taste like kimchi).

14 November 2014, Friday

Denny’s in the morning – finally! I’ve been wanting to go to a Japanese Denny’s in forever. I heard they were good. Chou, Ching, and I went in the morning, since Ching had 3rd period classes. My 3rd was cancelled, so I was fine, but we still met around 10:45 and walked to the Denny’s in Tsunashima. We got there on just as lunch hour was starting, so we got to order breakfast sets – which are cheaper (but still around $5).

Breakfast Set at Denny's

Breakfast Set at Denny’s

We all ended up ordering the same thing: a morning set including a salad, eggs, bacon, sausage, and hot cakes. The hot cakes were delicious. I didn’t want to waste anything (I paid for it!) so I ended up drenching my hot cakes with butter and maple syrup. I miss pancakes. They were so good. I need to go again.

Chou went back to her dorm, while Ching and I took the train to Mita. I went immediately to the cafeteria to try to get my hands on the Mita-sai Don, but they were sold out! I bought the Salmon Oyako Don, instead, which was delicious – ikura

Salmon Oyako Don

Salmon Oyako Don

and salmon, how could you not love it? I even bought Kuro Goma (Black Sesame) Soft Serve afterwards, which was delicious. Like peanut butter ice cream.

Kurogoma Ice Cream

Kurogoma Ice Cream

After kanji class, I headed straight to Roppongi for the illumination field trip with Camera Club. Mita was only about 19 minutes away from Roppongi, but I ended up waiting for Kaisaku and the rest at the station, just in case I got lost. Met up with Noguchi, Koba-ken, etc. Then we walked around the mall and took pictures of the light shows. It was really pretty – but it’s honestly a place you need to go to with a lover. haha….or at least if you are a close group of friends.

After a while, we ended up by this mall that was setting up a Monster Energy

Monster Event

Monster Event

Drink event (some skateboarding event) and got to separate for 30 minutes and take our own pictures. I explored the floors of the mall and took a bunch of pictures of Tokyo Tower and the tree lights from the 2nd floor. Tokyo Tower really glows at night. Speaking of pretty sights, the Louis Vuitton store in Roppongi is really nice to look at, too.

Night Mall Scene

Night Mall Scene

Tokyo Tower at Night

Tokyo Tower at Night

When we met back at the Louis Vuitton, Koba-ken had his tripod set up and everyone was taking pictures.

 

Lighted Trees in Roppongi

Lighted Trees in Roppongi

We were waiting for Sumire and Arisa to arrive. After they did, we headed to Wendy’s for dinner (and took a group picture!).

I was super happy.

Wendy's, oh how I have missed you!!!

Wendy’s, oh how I have missed you!!!

I heard that a couple of the guys in the club really love Wendy’s, but it’s a hard store to find in Tokyo. There’s only two in the whole city, and one of them just so happened to be in Roppongi.

When I entered the store, I was surprised at how chic the place was. It had

a nice, classy atmosphere, and menus in both English and Japanese. The staff could even speak in both languages. What a contrast to Wendy’s at home! I imagine Wendy’s as I do of McD’s or Burger King, not of a restaurant with fancy decorations and red walls.

Classy walls and "chandelier"

Classy walls and “chandelier”

Some differences between the menus at home and at this Wendy’s were the addition of coffee jelly frosties, parfait frosties, teas, the teriyaki burger, avocado wasabi burger, and the basil chicken burger. I really wanted to order basil chicken, but I was told it would take too much time to prepare, so I ordered the avocado wasabi, instead. It

My Set A: Avocado Wasabi Burger, Small Fries, and Small Lemonade

My Set A: Avocado Wasabi Burger, Small Fries, and Small Lemonade

might’ve been the wrong choice, because I was literally tearing up when eating it. I also really miss the spicy chicken burger (the one I usually order at home), so I’ll definitely go back for that.

Avocado Wasabi Burger

Avocado Wasabi Burger

The time spent at Wendy’s was really fun. Everyone was teasing Kaisaku (who….was too embarassed to say the word “hamburger” to me in English, since I’m a native speaker) and making him model and taking pictures of him. Apparently it happens all the time, and he’s used to it. Everyone was really making fun of everyone, though, and it was funny. We ended up staying there until almost 10:30 or so.

Then we took the train home. Koba-ken asked how Wendy’s in Japan compared to the ones in America, and I said the sizes were different. And indeed they are. The patty in my burger was tiny…

Bye, bye Wendy's!

Bye, bye Wendy’s!

15 November 2014, Saturday

After class, I went with Ching to try to get the Mita-sai Don, since it was the last day they were available. But they were gone! Apparently, they sold out of their stock the day before! I was so shocked and disappointed, since it only comes around once a year, and I won’t be there to try it the next time….

At least I have this picture of it to console me...

At least I have this picture of it to console me…

I ended up getting another of the special Hokkaido-Tohoku fair food. It had tiny fried fish in it that stared back at me with their beady little dead eyes. But they were fried deliciousness.

Kounago no Yanagawafu Don

Kounago no Yanagawafu Don

And afterwards, I went with Geraldine to Akihabara for the first time! Honestly, because of me, we ended up spending the whole time in Animate, though. I was fangirling too much.

Cell Phone Straps

Cell Phone Straps

I kept pondering through all the shelves, trying to figure out what to buy – and, if you know me, I’m the most indecisive person on the planet, so I take forever to decide anything. But since I didn’t want to spend too much, I just bought a Persona 3 keychain – the

Cardcaptor Sakura!!! WANT.

Cardcaptor Sakura!!! WANT.

type where you buy it and discover what you get when you open the package. Geraldine bought some soundtracks and art materials, and then we headed home. On the train

Studio Ghibli Art Books

Studio Ghibli Art Books

headed for Hiyoshi, I opened my keychain…..and I GOT THE ONLY ONE OUT OF 8 CHOICES I DIDN’T WANT. I have the absolute worst luck. Man. I really wanted Shinjiro….but I got the stupid shadow

Shadow Cell Phone Strap I didn't want and Umi (Magic Knight Rayearth) keychain from Harajuku

Shadow Cell Phone Strap I didn’t want and Umi (Magic Knight Rayearth) keychain from Harajuku

Minato defeated Day One….ugh. Gotta go back and buy another one to at least get Akihiko or Minato or something.

On the walk home, we stopped by Tokyu and bought taiyaki. Geraldine went with the chestnut cream one, and I bought bitter chocolate – which was super yummy by the way.

 

Bitter Chocolate Cream Taiyaki

Bitter Chocolate Cream Taiyaki

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drama CDs <3

Drama CDs ❤

Screentones for Manga!

Screentones for Manga!

 

 

 

Last look at Akihabara

Last look at Akihabara

 

Leave a Reply

