Revolve Mita-sai Performance

22 November 2014, Saturday

Mita-sai actually started the day before, on Friday, but, because of Revolve practices, I couldn’t make it. So

Meeting up

Meeting up

this was the first official day for me. Sadly, most of it was still spent with Revolve. We had to meet up at 12:50, where we were given stage passes and flyers to pass out. Then we put out bags up in a room (I left

Mita-sai Stage

Mita-sai Stage

it with a friend) and went around to pass out flyers. I was by myself. And visited the Camera Club and filled out their survey.  In another building, saw a lot of people lined up to watch JADE Dance Crew. I also bought fried ice cream from one of the stands outside. It was super expensive at ¥350 for one. I didn’t see the price before I bought it.

Matcha fried ice cream with kuromitsu

Matcha fried ice cream with kuromitsu

It was delicious, but so not worth the price. Other than that, saw a bunch of interesting booths. The Keio lucky bags (showed the contents, though) line was super long for some reason. It’s not even stuff that’s that useful.

Lol what

Lol what

Around 3:15, we had to meet up again, and we went back to the bags area. Everyone but the 12 and 13th Revolve groups (3rd and 4th years) were stuck in one small room. I’m a part of the 15th, even though I’m not a freshman. Soon, we went to line up outside of the stage area. When we got into the building behind the stage (yeah I still don’t know my building names), we waited a lot longer for our stage to start at 6:50 or so. Backstage was really interesting. Everyone crowds around the back of the stage. We also cheer (which is normal) and etc.

Backstage

Backstage

It was, well, it went. The stage was super fun, though. When you perform on stage..it’s just the best feeling. I really missed the adrenaline rush. Even though I was only on stage for all of 15 seconds or so, it was still fun.

My only regret is that my phone ran out of battery when everyone gathered on stage and I could’ve taken pictures from the stage…..but I couldn’t because battery!!! Argh. Once in a lifetime opportunity missed…

Also, something that I noticed about Mita-sai is that, strangely and funnily enough, Keio seems to be the only university that charges people for its pamphlets.

After the performance, I knew people were probably headed to the after party I didn’t plan on going to (it was ¥4000, no thanks), but I went to dinner with a friend instead. He knew a recommended ramen restaurant back in Hiyoshi and we went. The guy who seated us was super nice and gave me a lollipop after eating – “for ladies only” lol. Since I had long hair, I was even given a hair tie while I ate!

The cheapest, regular ramen

The cheapest, regular ramen

Then Jingyu and I headed to Motosumiyoshi to go to yet another cheaper grocery store. On the way, saw a very interesting “vending machine” selling vegetables. The veggies were all in lockers and you pay to open them. The most amusing thing was the ones in which a ¥50 coin was attached the veggies, since you can only open the lockers with ¥100 yen coins – that was the way they refunded you for what you pay extra.

Broccoli with ¥50 attached

Broccoli with ¥50 attached

The grocery store itself was quite a far walk from Hiyoshi. But I guess it was pretty worth it. They were super, super, super cheap (for most things) and I would totally go again. But Jingyu and I struggled getting home with so much heavy stuff to carry back. But they have peanut butter! I had to buy it.

 

Funny how this entry was supposed to be about Revolve, but I don’t have much to say. The stage was fun. Being backstage is great. But since I don’t really know anyone in Revolve, I wouldn’t say it was that this day was very fun. After the performance was pretty enjoyable, though. Motosumiyoshi lol.

Leave a Reply

