Enjoying Mita-sai

23 November 2014, Sunday

I planned on going early, but as always, I wake up too late. I still went around 2 or 3pm. I went straight to the Camera Club to hang out with Noguchi and Sumire.

Red Gate all decorated

Red Gate all decorated

At 3:30, I had to meet Ayako, a fellow Pokemon Club member, at the Pokemon Cafe. It was pretty crowded (with basically all guys, some girls), with a tournament going on in the back. I wish I had entered, since the prize was Alpha Sapphire! The stuffed animals all around were cute, though. I really wanted the Eevee…

Pokemon Cafe

Pokemon Cafe

After hanging around for quite some time, Ayako and I headed to Gonzo (another member)’s Cosplay Cafe. A fellow study abroad student also worked there, and he was dressed up in Attack on Titan gear.

The cafe was actually quite popular (with guys). Ayako and I both got pictures with different cosplayers. I took one with a guy dressed up as Ren from UtaPri, since…I only knew his costume lol. He asked me afterwards if I knew who he was cosplaying as and if I like UtaPri, but my answer was pretty lackluster, so I’m afraid I might’ve offended him…>.< I like UtaPri, but not really….

Ayako ordered donuts and a drink, while I ordered what was called “In the Middle of Haru-chan’s Dream” – which, I’m guessing, is Ouran Host Club’s Haru-chan? I’m not sure. But it was a small plate of snacks. Everything at school festivals is pretty overpriced until closing time, though.

Haru-chan no Yume no Naka

Haru-chan no Yume no Naka

I spotted a couple of Ikemen Kabedon flyers and wanted to go try it out, but, surprisingly, the line was super super long. I guess Japanese girls aren’t as embarrassed of that kind of stuff as I thought. So I didn’t go. Ayako and I, instead, headed to one of her friends’ booths. Menchi (?) Katsu. Where we got a discount on the food because she was an acquaintance! It was super yummy, with umeboshi sauce, so slightly sour, too.

Katsu

Katsu with umeboshi sauce

I wanted to watch Dancing Crew Es perform, but, as usual, the stage area was crowded with people. Ayako and I went to the Pokemon Cafe instead, which was above the stage, so I got a good view from there and kept taking videos and pictures. I was probably being creepy, but oh well. Ayako ended up leaving without me noticing, though.

Dancing Crew Es

Dancing Crew Es

And after everything ended, I headed to Shinjuku to go to GU. However, I rely on my phone and Google Maps for finding places and taking trains, so when it kept dropping 3G, I had to wait around for it to pick up a signal or something. I got stuck at Shinjuku station that way. And there, I was tempted to buy cakes at Ginza Cozy Corner. Slices of cake were on sale…and people were lining up for it. So I bought myself a slice of strawberry cake and chocolate cake.

Cakes!

Cakes!

Somehow or another, I figured out how to go to Shinjuku Sanchoume, where exit B5 or something goes straight into the Bic Camera x UNIQLO store, where GU is on the 7th floor. I ended up shopping around and bought three pairs of tights. GU is such a good place for cheap clothing.

On the way home, back at Hiyoshi, I stopped by Family Mart to buy a ticket for Disney Sea for Tuesday.

24 November 2014, Monday

Another late day to Mita-sai. This time, however, I had a companion. I went to campus around 12:15 and hung around Ching’s booth for a bit (her walking club had a grilled banana booth) until Estee arrived.

Grilled Banana Booth

Grilled Banana Booth

When she did, I immediately headed to the right and bought this weird ebi senbei, egg, and yakisoba mix food. It was pretty good. They used like mayo and okonomiyaki sauce, too.

Tamasen

Tamasen

It was difficult to eat, though. Estee and I then went to the Camera Club, where Estee walked through and filled out the survey, while I talked to Sumire again. After she finished, went up to the Kabedon floor and there was like no line. It was such a contrast from the previous day. Estee and I just went to the table of whoever was idle (and it was ¥300). He spoke only Japanese, but he was quite friendly. I think his name was Yuma…so the place was technically a fortune-telling kabedon place, so we had to pick cards, pick what we wanted out fortune to be about, and chatted. The kabedon wasn’t embarrassing this time, since the guy talks into your ear (never looks you into the eyes while doing it) and you’re basically responding to what he’s saying. It wasn’t like the kabedon at Tokyo Game Show. Still got pictures, though. Estee didn’t think it was really embarrassing either.

Made a quick stop at the Pokemon Cafe and the Astronomy Club (I bought one of their pictures – they had REALLY good photos, rivaling the Camera Club…), then went to buy fried ice cream at the cheaper booth.

Fried Ice Cream, one with chocolate sauce, and one with matcha and kuromitsu

Fried Ice Cream, one with chocolate sauce, and one with matcha and kuromitsu

They, unfortunately, only had a choice of toppings, while the ice cream was fixed at vanilla. Their coating wasn’t as good as the more expensive one I had on Saturday. But it was ¥500 for 2, so who can complain. We finished them off, then headed for the main stage where the Mister Keio Contest was going on.

Note: If you want to watch shows at the main stage, you have to go early to get a spot in the crowd. And be prepared to hurt a lot. It’s just like one of the crowded trains there.

It was quite an enjoyable watch. The guys had to perform fake, dramatic confessions to Miss Keio (the confessions were funny and like watching a drama – but not romantic, more like, staged and purposefully made interestingly). There were a lot of different rewards, and a voting system (through phone). The guy I liked the most won! And, funnily enough, he’s actually a member of Revolve, too – one of the Bboys. Miss Keio is part of Dancing Crew Es.

Mister Keio

Mister Keio

After Mister Keio, we stuck around to watch JADE Dance Crew. The MC guy was super hilarious. He was entertaining us while we waited, and you could tell he was enjoying himself. He also made the announcements that the crowd had to move back, and even did the “se, no, 1, 2” and the crowd actually moved back along with what he said, which made him laugh.

One of their first pieces

One of their first pieces

Anyways, JADE itself was super enjoyable. We had to sit down on the ground to watch (to let people in the back see), which was hard in such a crowded place, but not too bad. I recorded nearly all their numbers. They were SO good. They are super legit. Like all the girls had six packs and everyone was having fun. They were all smiling on stage and were over exaggerating their movements and facial expressions. They’re really good. And the same people were in so many pieces. And they had multiple performances of the same genre, but a different choreographer. I’m now a hardcore fan of theirs. So good. They actually perform a show, and not only dance. They have stories to pieces and sometimes outrageous outfits.

The only problem I see with them is that they sometimes take the lyrics too seriously (also something interesting about JADE – all their music is basically English), like when they had the phrase “wave the American flag” (which I find…a weird choice of music), they actually waved flags. JADE also mouths the words, which, back at home, is considered like taboo. You’re not supposed to sing along, but just feel the music as you dance. I found it much more fun that they did though (I personally like doing that, too…).

I was seriously like a fan, though – filming them and taking pictures of them at the same time (my filming camera in one hand and my DSLR in another).

JADE Dance Crew

JADE Dance Crew

After JADE, there was another wait before Koyosai, or the ending show. The cheering squad came out first to sing the Keio song. Then there was a short break, the crowd had to move back, and we had to sit down again. It was absolutely unbearable this time, though. I had one leg under me, like an almost seiza, and I had to hold it that way for an hour. It really hurt. Even when I adjusted it – I felt like my ankle was about to break or something. It was the most painful thing ever. I will never go through that trouble again. And the guy that was like diagonal from me also spread his legs out and took up SO much room and was squishing me, so I barely had any room. I was so pissed off, but I couldn’t do anything about it. What an effing inconsiderate guy, though.

But Koyosai was pretty enjoyable. There were a lot of different, small acts, including ones from Meiji University, Tokyo University, and even Waseda! There was a magic show, double dutch show (Tokyo U), free form soccer, free form basketball, Unicorns cheering squad, Dancing Crew Es, and JADE. JADE was my favorite, of course. The electric violin band was really good, too. Loved their song. It’s kind of sad how Revolve is the only dance crew without a stage, though.

The Unicorns

The Unicorns

At the end, everyone sung the Keio song – including the Waseda guys! Thought that was kind of funny. And people in the crowd blew up balloons and released them in the air. Streamers also fell down.

Everyone in Koyosai

Everyone in Koyosai

It was a relief when we finally got up. Made a quick visit to Ching, then Estee and I left the festivities (everyday ends at 6, and this was the absolute final of Mita-sai) and took a train at Tamachi Station to Shibuya. At Shibuya, went to UNIQLO, since their Kansha-sai sales were ending that day. Their heat tech and Air-something (the summer brand) was on sale, and we both bought a bunch of stuff. Heat tech is great for winter – it really keeps you warm. Provided that you use it as like an undershirt or underwear. If it doesn’t have anything covering it, it still gets chilly. I advise, if there’s ever a sale again, to get Extra Warm Heat Tech, since they’re on sale for nearly half price. Bumped into a bunch of same Japanese class people at UNIQLO, which was weird, since we all chose the Shibuya UNIQLO for some reason. Then Estee and I ate dinner at MOS Burger. Got my first rice burger! It was tiny, but surprisingly filling.

Rice Burger with nori, lotus root, etc

Rice Burger with nori, lotus root, etc

I even got a small melon soda with it. Estee bought an ebi burger, fried chicken, and a medium sized melon soda.

Ebi (Shrimp) Burger

Ebi (Shrimp) Burger

Her burger was much bigger. It looked so good…I kind of wish I chose other stuff to get, too. But MOS Burger is a bit pricey for the size.

After we finished eating, I wanted dessert, so we headed t the Family Mart next door. They had an amusing dessert – “ore no purin,” or “my (masculine) pudding.” (Japanese pudding is like caramel flan). It was humongous purin. There was a cup version and a don version (don as in bowl).

Ore no Purin

Ore no Purin

I really want to buy one for myself someday lol. I ended up buying a madeline and melon pan, though.

Green Melon Pan with Melon Puree and Melon Cream

Green Melon Pan with Melon Puree and Melon Cream

Then we separated and went home. I ate the melon pan at home for dessert and was pleasantly surprised to find it actually had melon taste and cream inside. It tasted like honeydew.

Overall, Mita-sai was actually pretty fun. It was mostly the last (and most crowded) day that was fun, though. If you have friends to go with, it’s fun, but if you go by yourself, it’s really not. That’s all.

 

Leave a Reply

