Tokyo Disney Sea

25 November 2014, Tuesday

The last day off from school, and what do we do? GO TO TOKYO DISNEY SEA. This was actually planned a week or so in advance, though.

I was told to meet up at Hiyoshi Station at 7am, and I had a severe lack of sleep because of that, yet I was still the first to arrive. Everyone was late by like 20-30 minutes because Ching overslept. It was horrible…and it was a super rainy day.

And they still needed to buy breakfast at the Family Mart in front of the station first.

Funnily enough, even though we weren’t headed to school and it felt like vacation, the trains we took were super crowded and I felt like I would fall at any second and knock people down like dominoes. We changed lines twice (which I found weird. I’m pretty sure you can take a train and change only once) and it took quite a while to get to the right station. But when we did.

Disney Station

Disney Station

Oh. My. God.

The excitement just bubbled to the surface. I was giddy, excited, and super happy.

I’m sure this entry will be a super long one.

The first thing we had to do was buy a ticket for the train that goes to Tokyo Disney Sea Station. Yeah, they still make you spend another ¥260 for the ride to Disney. The train goes to the hotel station, Disneyland Station, and Disney Sea Station. The monorail is great though – it has Mickey Mouse shaped windows and hand rails.

Mickey Monorail

Mickey Monorail

We went to Disney Sea and everyone but Ching had to trade in their tickets for the ones the park uses. Ching bought hers special at a shop in Shibuya, while we all bought ours at Family Marts. The ticket itself was ¥6400. Inside the park, the first thing I saw was the giant rotating globe – the symbol of Disney Sea. We took a group picture in front of it (me insisting). Then we passed through the gate and went straight to a souvenir cart to check out the Disney accessories.

Something I love about Disney in Japan is how obsessed with Disney they all are. Everyone in Disney wears some sort of Disney accessory – whether it be Minnie headbands or Duffy head backpacks. It was wonderfully wonderful. It was like Disney cosplay wonderland. Everyone was in the spirit of things and it wasn’t out of place to be dressed as your favorite characters. There were even some decora girls around. I didn’t want to spend much, so I bought clip on Marie ears for ¥700, which I now regret, since they look terrible. Ching bought a ¥900 mini Woody clip on hat. Juu bought the real deal hat for ¥2800. Takahiro bought a pair of Mickey ears on a headband (with a mini sorcerer’s hat). George went with nothing. And then we started traveling around.

Disney Sea Globe! And cosplayers!

Disney Sea Globe! And cosplayers!

Volcano

Volcano

The volcano was super noticeable from every angle. Nonetheless, we headed there first. We lined up for the 20000 Leagues Under the Sea ride first. It wasn’t too long of a wait, but the ride itself wasn’t that great. It did feel like we were under water, though. The ride was pretty dark, and you just look out of a submarine.

DSC_0618

View at the 20000 Leagues Under the Sea area

 

We then headed to get a Fast Pass for the Journey to the Center of the Earth ride (which takes place inside the volcano). While we waited for our Fast Pass time, we went to the Little Mermaid land, where Triton’s Palace was a kiddie

Triton's Palace

Triton’s Palace

ride wonderland. We ended up riding the roller coaster nearby instead. But it was still a kiddie roller coaster.

It was close to our Fast Pass time after the ride, so we headed back to the volcano and into the line. I forget that you still have to wait in line with Fast Passes. But the Journey

Inside Triton's Palace

Inside Triton’s Palace

Logo for Journey to the Center of the Earth

Logo for Journey to the Center of the Earth

ride was the best ride at Disney Sea. It’s semi a roller coaster, and it has this one part that actually goes pretty fast. There’s even a drop down the volcano! Kyuu and Juu aren’t that great with roller coasters, so they were scared and surprised, but Ching and I enjoyed it. I wanted to go again (but we didn’t).

Then we walked into a gift shop. I spotted a hat I really wanted – a furry, muffler + gloves + hat crossover Cheshire Cat hat! It was ¥3000, though – super expensive. There were also Sully and Tigger variations. Thus, I put it off….but George went and bought an Olaf hat with a detachable nose for ¥2800. We then visited Agrabah, where there was a fountain with creepy Genie-headed lions.

Genie Fountain

Genie Fountain

The rides there were: merry-go-round (two stories), a show, and Sinbad. We went on the Sinbad ride since the wait was only 5 minutes. It was basically liked the It’s a Small World ride at Disneyland. The little tiger (I forget his name) is so cute!

Sinbad

Sinbad

We walked over to a jungle ish area afterwards, where Ching spotted a roller coaster (Raging Spirits). Juu, Kyuu, and Takahiro opted out, while Ching, George, and I stayed behind. The rest went to enjoy themselves elsewhere and get food. George actually hates roller coasters, but he’s only here a semester so is trying to do as much as he can. Ching and I are thrill seekers.

The wait was about 35 minutes, and the rain was getting harder by the minute. When we finally got to ride, it was really really wet. The ride itself wasn’t that great – especially since no one screamed! There was a little at the small 360, but otherwise it was completely silent! I don’t understand…

That made it very unfun. So that was a bust. Got soaked on it, too. It was super cold afterwards. Ching tried contacting the others, but they weren’t picking up, so we went to a gift shop to browse around. But then she got a call back and we met up with the rest of our team at the Yucatan Base Camp Grill. They had eaten lunch there. Ching and I weren’t willing to spend so much money, so Juu let us eat some of the dried guava and mango she had brought along with her from Taiwan. Yummy~

And then we headed out again and took the monorail to American Waterfront. There, we walked around and checked out the Toy Story area, but the wait was like 2 hours and there were no more Fast Passes.

Big Band Beat

Big Band Beat

Instead, we went to the Big Band Beat Broadway show. The wait was still somewhat long, but we made it in to the second floor seats. There was no picture or filming allowed, but it was….okay. Splices of different songs, no real story, and Disney characters. The four main singers were also foreigners. With not very jazzy voices, so it wasn’t that fitting. The Christmas numbers were welcome, though, I guess. They had fake snow during the show, but only to the first floor crowd. Some of the dancers went down into the crowd, too.

After the show, Ching wanted to get stuff to eat. Saw a booth for Mickey churros, but I didn’t think it was worth the price. Takahiro went for it, though. Funnily enough, I went for three small mochi Little Green Men for a more expensive price.

Little Green Men Mochi

Little Green Men Mochi

They were tiny, but oh so good. Each mochi was filled with a different flavor cream: regular, chocolate, and strawberry. I kept the cup it came in as a souvenir. Ching bought a hot dog to eat. Then we walked around until we hit the area that Duffy is prominent in. The popcorn stand there was selling Milk Tea flavored popcorn.

Note: Disney Sea has a bunch of popcorn stands all around the area. They each specialize in a different flavor popcorn. It’s ¥310 for a regular amount, while it ranges from ¥1600-2800 for a souvenir box + popcorn, and ¥520 for refills in the souvenir basket.

Takahiro bought a regular box and we all partook in eating it. It….wasn’t that great. It did taste like milk tea, but it was such a odd combination that I was turned off towards it. Not my favorite. I wanted to go to the

Duffy Store

Duffy Store

Duffy store, so we went in and Kyuu was about to die from cuteness overload. She already loves Rilakkuma, so I guess Duffy is the next step. She like Shellie May. I really wanted one of the Duffy head backpacks people were carrying around, but it was ¥3900 – the same price as one of the teddy bears! I could not. Kyuu also had to think about it, so we headed off, planning to come back later. Juu really wanted to ride Aquatopia, so we went there next.

The line wasn’t too bad. Up to three people can sit in one cart, so we did rock-scissors to decide who gets paired with who.  All the tall people got paired together, so Kyuu had to volunteer to go over to the guy’s side, while Juu came with us. We all really wanted to see how the big crowd would fit together, though.

The ride itself, meh. It was just gliding across a thin lake of water and spinning randomly. It was just very random. And short. The highlights were seeing the others in their cart. Nearby was the Storm Chaser ride,

Aquatopia

Aquatopia

so we went there. It was kind of like the Sky Rider/Glider(?) ride at Disneyland + the Star Tours ride. You stay in one place and feel like you’re moving.

I also found it funny that they showed the Captain Davis character who was controlling the ship as a white man, yet his voice was distinctly Japanese.

Then to gift shops! I was trying to find the Cheshire Cat hat, but I couldn’t. We went back to Agrabah to watch the Genie Magic Show. At the front gates, we all smelled a wonderful, DSC_0983familiar, savory scent. It was curry! Curry popcorn!!! I just had to buy some for myself – the smell was overpowering. And I have to say it’s my favorite flavor so far! It is super good and does taste like curry. Savory and savory go best after all~

Then we waited in line for the show. It took quite a long time for the prologue to start. I liked the show itself, though. The magician actor was funny, and the girl who played the little boy was really into her role.

We decided to get dinner afterwards, but first, stopped at the gift shop near 2000 Leagues that I knew had the Cheshire Hat. First thing: there was a stall that always had a super long line to it that was nearby. It was the gyoza dog! I’m pretty sure I read somewhere about it being pretty famous, so I went ahead and bought one. It was basically a manju/nikuman in the shape of a gyoza, though. We also happened to pass by a popcorn stand with caramel corn and the cheapest souvenir bucket at ¥1600. I wanted the bucket, so I bought it. Ching wanted the popcorn, so I had her pay me the price of a regular box. I absolutely hate caramel corn, though, so it was horrible for me.

THEN went to buy my Cheshire hat with my credit card wwww. Disney is the only time I’ll spend so much money…

Then we all headed back to the American Waterfront/Duffy area to the cheapest restaurant/cafeteria we could find and bought dinner. I bought the Cape Cod set. I was about the forfeit a filling dinner for an ¥850 dessert with a souvenir mug or plate, but I couldn’t do it. Even if I did not get dinner-dinner, it was still ¥100 more expensive. Takahiro actually bought the most expensive set + a souvenir dessert….

My Cape Cod Set

My Cape Cod Set

The set was yummy, though – fries are great. And it came with my choice of drink.

It was all filling – especially since I had the gyoza dog, too.

Gyoza Dog

Gyoza Dog

Then, since the store was right next door, we went to the Duffy place again. I was tempted to buy one of the Duffy pass cases, but I held myself back. I even held myself back from making a commemoration coin for ¥100. Kyuu, however, bought a ton of things (towel for ¥1000, keychains ¥1400-1700 each, a pair of earmuffs for ¥2800 ish). Then we went to a bunch of other souvenir shops before heading to the waterfront near the front of the amusement park to watch the Christmas illumination event. A bunch of characters came out on boats and “sang.” The speak in Japanese, but sing in English.

DSC_0099DSC_0115DSC_0121

The big “tree” (tree shaped light) in the middle of the lake also lit up. It was about 15 minutes of that, and then we went souvenir shopping. Takahiro ended up buying a Stitch mug and Juu bought a Mickey hat attached to a cape. Again, I was so tempted to buy more. But I held myself back. Stitch, though – love him!!! Argh. I wanted his keychain…There were also earrings and stuff I wanted (some girls wore a Monsters, Inc Mikey hat that had him biting their heads), but I couldn’t. Had to hold myself back. I spent like about the same as my ticket to the park costed…

Look at these cute mugs...

Look at these cute mugs…

 

Mickey and Minnie in traditional wear

Mickey and Minnie in traditional wear

We basically spent the rest of our time shopping around and looking at merchandise.

After we had our fill, we left the park and took the monorail back to the main station. It was saddening. So so so sad to leave the park and the fantasy land it created. Once we were out, no one was wearing Minnie Mouse headbands or anything anymore. It’s just like…returning back to reality. Disney really is a “magical place” when you see the difference between how people act there and outside.

At least when I got home, I ate a slide of chocolate cake.

Chocolate Gateaux from Cozy Corner

Chocolate Gateaux from Cozy Corner

Leave a Reply

