Pokemon Center Mega Tokyo

15 December 2014, Monday

In the morning, I played Pokemon,  but once it hit around 2, I headed out to go to Ikebukuro’s Sunshine City. The Pokemon Center actually opened last Friday, but I didn’t have time that day to go. Saturday and Sunday were also busy, so went on Monday. Even though it was the 4th day, it was still quite crowded.

Look at that glorious, glorious Charizard Y (with Pikachu)

Look at that glorious, glorious Charizard Y (with Pikachu)

I invited Geraldine to come after her class ended at 4:15, so she came around 5, and I was still trying to figure out what exactly I wanted to buy. I had a bunch of things in my basket, but it was so hard to choose! Everything costs too much money! There were also two Pikachu-in-a-Charizard Y hoodie plushies, but I didn’t want to spend that much money, so I struggled to choose just one. Geraldine had the same struggle, and chose the complacent Pikachu, while I chose the determined expression one.

Oh why, why must there be two Pikachus?!

Oh why, why must there be two Pikachus?!

It took like 4-5 hours, though. Of course, my consolation is that I got both the shiny Pikachu and shiny Charizard in ORAS and X that they were giving away. I was quite satisfied. Even though I still ended up spending over the price of two of those large Pikachu plushies. I could’ve just bought both.

The Pokemon Center itself isn’t actually that big, but it is bigger than the one at Hamamatsucho was. A lot of foreigners were also there, and some of them were buying the limited edition plushies in bulk. I guess to sell them back home? It was a weird sight to see, though.

Oh the foreigners and their bags of Pikachus. Leave some for the people who actually want them please.

Oh the foreigners and their bags of Pikachus. Leave some for the people who actually want them please.

There were also people from all walks of life – from young kids (barely any) to old men. There were salarymen and people with kids on their 3DS’ getting the free Pokemon. You can really tell Pokemon fans have aged. There were even lolitas, fashionistas, etc. Girls with fur coats and guys with blonde dyed hair. It was interesting.

Not a fashionista, but a darn cute Chespin

Not a fashionista, but a darn cute Chespin

The checkout line was also super long and the staff could speak English. Got a free Pikachu-Charizard hoodie trading card with my purchase, too! Across from the Pokemon Center is also a mini Pokemon arcade with Pokemon capsule machines and Pokemon Tretta arcade machines.

Went to Alta to buy a secret santa gift, though. Then made a trip to Ikebukuro’s Animate to buy more rubber straps. I totally forgot to get the point card though! They had a capsule machine with Persona 3 characters in it, and I was, once again, hoping to get Shinjiro, but I ended up getting Akihiko. sigh. But found out that they sold Fire Emblem Awakening keychains and had to get one for myself. Geraldine bought a Code Geass strap, while I purchased Persona 3 and FE:A. We checked what we got outside. I managed to not get my most hated characters this time. I managed to get the Tactician (f) and Fuuka! I was especially surprised about getting Tactician, though. I wanted Stahl, but I thought the Tactician would be the hardest to get. I was just hoping not to get Sumia.

Hello, Akihiko

Hello, Akihiko

I wanted to go for purikura, but Geraldine had to get back by 10, so we went back to Hiyoshi and stopped by Mister Donut for the sale, then went home.

I’ll leave you with some pictures of the merchandise at Mega Tokyo

Mega Plushies

Mega Plushies

Mega Lucario and Mewtwo

Mega Lucario and Mewtwo

Mascot Pikachus

Mascot Pikachus

Mega Charizard X

Mega Charizard X

Pokemon Snacks

Pokemon Snacks

 

Leave a Reply

